Okay, so I’ve gotten a few questions recently pertaining to how I planned the first leg of my trip, and now this one too, from people who mentioned wanting to do something similar. Again, it is both flattering and hilarious that you think I know these things.

But whatever, here goes. The Kelsea Walker guide to planning a Big Trip.

First off, you gotta have some money. I estimate that I spent just under $3000 on the first leg of my adventures. That said, I was staying with family and friends more or less the entire way, and accommodations are going to be the most expensive part of your trip aside from flights (or train fare, depending). On the other hand, I was in Canada where cost of living is high and food and recreation (think surf lessons, kayak tours) all add up fast. And that price doesn’t include my return flight either mind you, cause after that adventure I flew down to Arizona to meet the fam.

My favourite resources for finding cheap flights are Matrix Flights and CheapOair . You just enter your to and from destinations and the date and it pulls flight info from hundreds of different companies to find you the best rate. A word of caution though, the options are organized by price, not logic. I could have flown to San Jose for $210, but I would have had a 13 hour layover in Newark and an overnight in Houston so keep an eye on that. Also always look at a couple days before and after you plan to leave, there can be a lot of variation in price from day to day. If you have baggage you’ll need to check I would recommend either a direct flight or connections within the same airline so you don’t have to worry about running around trying to find your bag.

If you’re planning to travel within Canada, consider taking the train. There’s something so special about seeing the whole country in one go like that, and its like a little mini-vacation in and of itself. Keep an eye on the VIA Rail website, they often have some sort of sale or promotion going on. Bus is another option for super-economical country-crossing if you’re one of those people who can sleep anywhere, but be ready for a very long haul. I’m sure you meet some pretty interesting characters though.

For Costa Rica I’m budgeting max $2000. My flight down was $326, return was $400, food, accommodation, laundry, everything at the farm for the three months I’m there will be $600, and my ride from the airport in San Jose to the farm will be $140. The extra is emergency money, going out money, and funds in case I decide to travel around the country a bit post wwoofing. Though Costa Rica has a much higher cost of living than other countries in the area, its still cheaper than here.

How much money you’ll need for your adventure depends entirely on where you want to go, how you intend to travel, and obviously how long as well. Though staying with friends and family, wwoofing or couch surfing are the cheapest options as far as sleeping arrangements go, hostels are also a good bet. Prices vary but are usually between $17 and $35 dollars a night. Read reviews online as not all of them are as wonderful and clean as Whalers on the Point in Tofino, and see what their policy is for booking ahead. If you don’t book ahead make sure you have a back-up option in case they’re full.

Some helpful resources for accommodation are Couchsurfing International , WWOOF (this is just the general site I posted yesterday, Google wwoof *country you want to travel to* to get that country’s site with actual farm listings and stuff) and HostelWorld.com.

What to pack? Half the clothes you think you need and twice the money is a good general rule of thumb to take to heart. Backpacks are classic and practical. I brought a 65 L Osprey Argon pack out west with me, and I’m heading down to Costa Rica with a 33 L Osprey Talon. I brought wayyyy too much stuff the first time and I’m not even going to tell you about it all cause its embarrassing. This time around I’m bringing 3 tshirts, 2 tank tops, 2 long sleeved work shirts (all quick dry), one pair of light work pants, 2 pairs of shorts, 1 pair of jeans, baselayer bottoms and a fleece for chilly nights, four changes of underwear, 4 pairs of merino wool socks, hiking boots, sandals and my super-light barefoot running shoes (I’m using them as water shoes). One novel (I’ll swap or borrow other books as I go), a guidebook and a Spanish phrase book, a headlamp, a money belt for my cash, cards and passport, shampoo bars (soap, shampoo and conditioner in super convenient bar form), Toothy Tabs dry toothpaste from Lush, a combination lock (most hostels give you a locker for valuables but you have to bring a lock or buy one), my first aid kit, my camera, some extra ziplock bags, heavy duty mosquito repellent, a micro-fiber towel, a mosquito net, my Nalgene and a compactible Platypus bottle for back-up, a reusable shopping bag (for any souvenirs I pick up, my packs pretty full), my phone and my pocket knife.

There’s probably more that I’m forgetting, but that’s the gist of it. There are people who are infinitely more impressive than I who travel with far less but I know myself and I will undoubtedly lose and wreck things along the way so I play it safe. That’s about as minimalist as I go. I like rolling my clothes and extras in dry bags inside my pack for purposes of organization, compression and keeping dry.

If you’re planning something and you’re in the neighbourhood, stop by and see my other family at Threads Lifestyle, even if only for a conversation and advice about what you’re going to need. They know their stuff. And I’m only completely biased in saying that the service is fantastic. Well, I mean, I’m not working there anymore, but its probably still half decent. Kidding, so kidding, they’re great. (There, I plugged you, can I have a raise now?)

Most of the questions I’ve gotten about doing a year off or a trip like mine have been of the “but where do I START?” variety. I suppose first you want to decide where you’d like to go. Do you want to explore your own country before heading off into the world to experience others? Have you always wanted to backpack Europe? Did you watch Eat, Pray, Love and fall head over heels for India or Bali? Do you want to climb mountains or visit temples or see far flung relatives? All of the above? There is such a wealth of travel literature and journalism, both published and on humble DIY blogs like this one, Google what you want to do and I’m sure you’ll find someone who’s done something similar and written about it to give you some idea about what to expect. One that I found really helpful on my first trip was I Backpack Canada. Guidebooks are a tried and true resource, and theres so many available these days- even ones geared specifically towards backpackers and students (read: broke people).

Once you know where you want to go, I suggest creating a bucket list of things you want to do and see while you’re out there, and use that as a basis to plan your route and time frame. To budget, look at transportation costs and do some math to figure out where you can afford to stay. Always always always account for unexpected extras, and then throw in some more money for emergencies, just in case. Spontaneity is a necessary component to a trip of this nature, in my opinion, but especially if you’re going it alone, a general framework never hurts. You can deviate from it, of course, but I say that you should always have some sort of plan, especially where sleeping arrangements are involved, to fall back on. There are also lots of organizations that run organized gap year-type trips, ad even travel agencies specifically geared towards student travel. All that comes with a price tag though, and though they all look amazing I found it a lot more economically feasible to go it alone.

A final word on travelling solo as a woman, because this is another thing I get asked a lot about. I wish we lived in a world where people’s right to safety and freedom was respected regardless of their gender and where we taught our boys not to attack people instead of teaching our girls to carry keys between their knuckles every time they go out after dark, and I hope that someday we do. Being female should not carry an expectation that you will be assaulted. It is not right and it is not fair and it should NOT be normalized. Not by our society, not by the media and especially not in our own minds. By saying things like “a girl traveling alone is asking for trouble”, you are perpetuating the idea that men have no control over their actions, violence against women is this normal, unavoidable reality, and worse, that it is all somehow women’s fault. This is bigotry defending itself, and like assault against ANYONE, it should not be tolerated.

End rant. Now, because this is not the world according to Kelsea (yes, bad things can happen and  women do make more appealing targets than men while travelling abroad), there are certain precautions everyone, men and women, should take. Don’t hitchhike alone. If you absolutely must hitchhike period, a man and a woman together is the safest combination, and usually more likely to get picked up than two guys. Don’t publicize the fact that you are travelling solo. Don’t read guidebooks or maps on the street. Try to blend in. Study up on the local language before you go, and know how to contact emergency services if you need to. Keep you money stashed in at least two or three different places- a money belt, a secure pocket in your bag that takes some rummaging to get to, and an emergency stash tucked in an empty Chapstick container in my toiletry bag are usually the way I go. Dressing a little more conservatively than usual won’t go amiss.

It’s easy to get caught up in the safety stuff when travelling alone, especially when its all brand new and a little bit scary, but despite everything I just said, you also have to trust people. The vast majority of folks don’t want to hurt you, in fact most of them will prove to be helpful and friendly if you give them a chance, especially within the backpacker network. And you aren’t going anywhere that totally normal people don’t live and work and play every day of their lives. Just don’t make yourself an easy target by being oblivious to your surroundings and you’ll be fine.

And most of all, its totally worth it. Even if you have to get another job to save up, even if you have to fight your parents every step of the way. Other people may not love your choices, but they aren’t the ones who have to live with giving them up. I never, ever want to look back on my life and regret times I didn’t follow through on my dreams. No matter how hard you have to work for it, no matter how many opportunities you have to force into existence with your bare hands, I say its worth it. For the trips and the experiences themselves, of course, but also for the knowledge that you can achieve what you set your mind to. There’s really nothing more empowering than living life on your own terms. I want to see the world, experience it in every way possible and learn everything I can so that’s what I’m setting off to do. No reason you can’t do the same. My quote of the moment is from Calamity Jane and it goes “I figure if a girl wants to be a legend she should go ahead and be one.”

And why shouldn’t life be as legendary as you can make it? Pura Vida baby, I’m going to Costa Rica tomorrow!